Connection to MySQL server successfully established.

Marine Algae Outer Hebrides Taxonomic List

Alage Outer Hebrides logo  Algae Outer Hebrides

Taxonomic List of Marine Algae
Species Ordered by Family

Marine algae are divided into three groups based on the colour of the photosynthetic pigments they contain: Chlorophyta (green algae), Rhodophyta (red algae) and the Ochrophyta (brown algae). Although commonly grouped under the term marine algae, the Ochrophyta are not plants, they are members of the Chromista which includes a diverse range of organisms from diatoms to downy mildews.